Have questions or want to discuss cycling? Join Now or Sign In to participate in the BikeRide community.

New: Take Part in the March Giveaway: Coming Soon 3/24

Avid ultimate bleed problem
Hi all newbie here,

I am having an issue with bleeding my rear brake, I have followed the instructions but I am having a problem. I am at the stage of bleeding the rear caliper, I am attaching the rear and front syringes but when I try and push the rear syringe down it's solid?. No fluid will run to the lever syringe.

To mention I have shortened the hose and everything appeared to go ok?.

Any help would be grateful.

cheers
Tez
Hi Tez. Is this the instruction manual that you are following?
http://www.sram.com/sites/default/files/techdocs/95-5015-029-000_hydraulic_disc_brake_bleed_and_hose_length_adjustment_rev_a.pdf

If so - forget it. You cut the hose and introduced a lot of air into the system which is very bad. As good as the SRAM tech docs are, they do leave out a lot of info since the IT guys, not the mechanics, post it on the site. See if you can dig around in there and find a 'Dealer Services' tab. That gets more involved. The SRAM (Avid) site is huge and not easy to navigate. The info IS there.

I trust that you replaced all of the Olives and Barb fittings? That is a Must. You are not simply "bleeding the brakes" now. As in new fluid or a top-off. You got some serious air in the system. It has to come out!
The 2 Syringe method only works when we are adding. If you have a week to wait for all of the bubbles to migrate up into the Master Cylinder at the lever - great! Otherwise, get a bunch of paper towels and treat it as if it had NO fluid in it. Flushing (purging) the system is a job best done by two people and is messy.