Have questions or want to discuss cycling? Join Now or Sign In to participate in the BikeRide community.

New: Take Part in the March Giveaway: Coming Soon

1978 Raleigh needs refreshing - a little confused
Hi.

I've recently retired and decided that it's time to freshen up my 1978 Raleigh Record. The main thing I need to do is replace the rims/tires and all the cables. I try to be a daily rider in the summer, riding on suburban streets between 30-60 minutes several times per week. I've been using it almost daily for the last several years.

Both my rims are bent and the tires are shot. I have tires I really like right now that have been durable and lasted ma a long time; they are Tioga Bloodhounds -- 27 x 1-3/8. I've easily found the tires, but the rims are another story.

I've found rims here http://sheldonbrown.com/harris/rims/630.html, but want to be sure they'll work before I get some. It says "fits most 10-speeds and other "road" bikes made before the early 1980s. All of the rims shown here will work with any 27 inch tire". Is this or can I get a rim/spoke/hub assembly?

Anyone have any advice or anything I need to be aware of? Thanks.
1978 Raleigh Record
You can definitely get complete wheels (hub, rim, spokes) that will fit. Unless you particularly want to keep your current hubs, complete wheels are probably cheaper than buying new rims and having someone re-lace the wheels anyway.

For wheels, you need a 27" rim and a hub that will accept a freewheel (not a cassette). Your bike probably has steel rims. I would get aluminum unless you are really trying to maintain it in original condition.

Finally, how "bent" are your current wheels? If there's just a little side to side wobble, they may be able to be "trued" (straightened). If they've got dents or sharp bends, probably need to replace.