Have questions or want to discuss cycling? Join Now or Sign In to participate in the BikeRide community.

New: Take Part in the March Giveaway: Coming Soon 3/24

Shifter upgrade
Hi, as a newbie I would first like to say hello to all and thank you in advance for any assistance you can give. I have recently purchased a Gitane mach 1400 road bike with Shimano Sora 9 speed group and Sora shifters. I would like to upgrade the shifters, ( possibly to Shimano Tiagra ) is this possible and if so how difficult to do.

Thank you and cheers.
OK, both are 9 speed groups, only the crank set is incompatible, I believe Sora still has the "traditional" tapered square bottom bracket whereas Tiagra is more modern. Rest should work, though. I believe that most of the Shimano stuff is quite interchangeable, assuming you stick to the same number of speeds of course. The Tiagra group is a nice entry level group, I'd go as far as saying "as much road bike as most need". Oh, and take care that you get the correct front derailleur (2 or 3 chain rings, clamp or braze on) and the correct rear derailleur (short or long cage). Other than that I cannot think of anything. Good luck!
Joe, I was thinking of just replacing the chain ring shifter and leaving the "Front Sora derailluer". Are you saying that I would need to replace both? The reason I'd like to upgrade is, although everything is working fine the shifting operation (chain ring shifter only) is very rough. It takes a lot of thumb pressure to down shift and clunks instead of clicks if you know what I mean. I was thinking maybe the Tiagra would be more refined and smoother. In your opinion do you think an upgrade would be worthwhile or should I just persevere with what I have. I am not a pro and cycle only for pleasure and exercise. I average 150 - 200K per week. Thank you for you help.
Cheers.
PJA
The Tiagra shifters (STI) will be a straight swap for the Soras.