Have questions or want to discuss cycling? Join Now or Sign In to participate in the BikeRide community.

New: Take Part in the Latest Giveaway coming soon

Greetings
I am a complete newbie, just to be honest from the start. I haven't ridden since I was young when a 10-speed Schwinn with skinny tires made gravel roads a bit of a challenge. I'm looking to get back into bikes, traditional and e-bikes, for a variety of reasons including just a great reason to be outside as well as health and local transportation. I'm a big dude at 6'8" so I have been taking my time reading a lot of reviews, watching a lot of videos, and just trying to learn as much as I can before I take the plunge and make some investments. For a traditional bike, I'm almost settled on Cannondale Quick 6. For e-bikes, I still can't decide though I have Ride1up 700 XR, Nakto Super Cruiser, and Juiced RipCurrent on my short list. I look forward to lurking on these forums for a while and learning more. Thanks for reading my intro post.
Whatever you get, make sure it's the right size for you, and make sure it's set up to fit you properly. We can get away with a lot when we're younger. Not so when we're older, and correct fitment becomes even more important to avoid pain and injury.

I personally would start with cheap used bikes until you're sure what style of cycling you really enjoy and exactly what fits you. However, I have decades of wrenching under my belt, so I don't have to worry about fixing/maintenance.

My humble opinion is to avoid making costly mistakes at the start. If you haven't ridden since childhood, you're unlikely to have the knowledge, skills and tools needed to find and fettle the right bike for you. Talk to local bike stores, find experienced cyclists, join (a) club(s).

Have you considered just getting one bike, trying it out, maybe changing it/upgrading first? Then, worry about 'better' bikes and/or e-bikes?