Have questions or want to discuss cycling? Join Now or Sign In to participate in the BikeRide community.

New: Take Part in the March Giveaway: Coming Soon 3/24

Derailleur replacement Raleigh International
My Raleigh International had a 1971 era racing configuration and living in a very hilly area it was eating my up legs. So I had the front Campi 44-52 swapped out for a Sram 34-50 at the suggestion of a local shop for more climbing fun.

Turns out that they had to put on a shorter chain which in turn maxes out the old Record derailleur at about the fourth gear and would positively tear it off at the fifth. Their solution to barely avoid this was to move the rear wheel forward for more chain and call it good(resulting in a pretty limp chain in my low gear).

Though I know that one would never really ride in this chain straining big-big gear combination, it seems perilously close to a disaster waiting to happen. Being a newbie here and to the world of bike mechanicals, it has been suggested by a friend that I replace my rear derailleur with a Shimano Tiagra long cage, replace the chain, and the free wheel for additional climbing gears.

It is all starting to make sense but is this good advice considering the components and is it realistic to tackle this as first time bike project? I really think your tutorials are the cat's pajamas and would feel comfortable following your advice.
I think you need to replace your rear derailleur with a Shimano Tiagra long cage as well and you will need to add a new chain as well I hope you know how to re set you FD on you bike it easy to do.This forum can help you all the way until you are done.Good luck to you too.
My dad always told me a Sledge a matic can fix any thing.
Should work. As you have friction shifters it does not even matter how many gears you have in the rear, so you can swap out the rear wheel for a new one, e.g. with a 9 speed MTB cassette (or the new SRAM road group, forgot the name)