Have questions or want to discuss cycling? Join Now or Sign In to participate in the BikeRide community.

New: Take Part in the Latest Giveaway coming soon

Hello from Oregon!
Hi, everyone! I'm in western Oregon, and I'm very new to riding. I taught myself to ride again after 21 years last year and rode for a while, but got too nervous about the concept of going on the street and put the bike up. Now I'm giving it another try, because I really did enjoy it. There's so many beautiful areas around here to explore! I have some health problems, so my getting started is going REALLY slow, but I'll get there. Smile
(02-08-2023, 04:07 AM)nykteria Wrote:  Hi, everyone! I'm in western Oregon, and I'm very new to riding. I taught myself to ride again after 21 years last year and rode for a while, but got too nervous about the concept of going on the street and put the bike up. Now I'm giving it another try, because I really did enjoy it. There's so many beautiful areas around here to explore! I have some health problems, so my getting started is going REALLY slow, but I'll get there. Smile

Welcome nykteria. Which part of Western Oregon are you from? Incidentally I got my first long distance ride in Oregon when I rode from Hillsboro to Tillamook. Then explored the beautiful coast before taking a bus back to Hillsboro. The mini-bus had a bike-rack..:-)

Last year I rode to Seattle from Portland.

Sadly, I don't live in Oregon so am jealous of you and folks who get to explore the beautiful state..:-)
(02-10-2023, 12:16 PM)GirishH Wrote: