Have questions or want to discuss cycling? Join Now or Sign In to participate in the BikeRide community.

New: Take Part in the March Giveaway: Coming Soon 3/24

Freehub Worn?
When I crank hard it seems to me like the Freehub is skipping (randomly) and making a popping noise. I checked out all other drivetrain components and they are fine. And just to experiment, I used another wheel I have and the bike rode fine. I'm pretty new to the Freehub/Cassette technology as I have been out of bicycles since the 80's, but I do have a strong knowledge of bicycle repair. I was just wondering if Freehubs do wear out like that.

Yes, it does sound like it is worn. <a href="http://bikeride.com/freehub-body/">This video</a> will help if you want to tackle the replacement yourself.