New: Take part in the January 2020 BikeRide Giveaway for a HEDKAYSE | ONE bike helmet

Welcome guest! Register or sign in to participate in the cycling discussions.

Handlebar stem
ok I got a lot of great advice yesterday on a shifter, lets see how ya do on this, I have a giant mountain bike with a 23" frame which is nice when you're six foot six inches tall, what I'd like to do is change the handle bar stem to an adjustable one. looking on ebay I see several of them but there a lot of different sizes, my question is what size do I need? I plan on reusing the handle bars which I don't know? do I need a certain size for those as well? or just for the stem? you pulled me out of the fire yesterday can you help with this as well? thanks in advance, I love to ride but I am a novice at working on them.
Without pictures or an exact description of what you have (and with my crystal ball currently being polished...) we cannot really help you.
If you have a threaded headset you are lucky, getting a longer / different / adjustable stem is easy. For the more modern headsets: there are some adjustable stems, but I guess they might need a longer steerer tube on the fork, though this is hard to say without seeing what you are writing about.
I too need to add a longer stem to the steering head as I am too hunched over on my bike..it's tough on the shoulders and all. I wonder though, if making it taller puts undue stress on the neck and if so, is it worth the effort to change it out?
guys; as Joe says, if you do not provide enough information, we can not help you....
Nigel
Also, after you've shown pictures, so we can see if you have a threaded or quill stem in 1" or 1 1/8", (which aren't actually 1" or 1 1/8"), or a threadless, I want to suggest changing the handlebars.

Your current MTB bars have the grips oriented for power & control.
Cruiser bars come up, out & back, for comfort, but at a price, as the grips are no longer perpendicular, but angled back.