Have questions or want to discuss cycling? Join Now or Sign In to participate in the BikeRide community.

New: Take Part in the March Giveaway: Coming Soon

Single speed to 12 speed
I bought a road bike today and the previous owner used it mostly for commuting, so he converted it from a 12 speed to fixed. I am going to use it more for triathlons and such, so I was wondering how to convert it back. I am new to bikes so have no clue how to go about this. If it ends up being too much for me, I would be willing to take it to a repair shop, so what would be a reasonable price for that?
Thanks!
Depends on what the previous owner did. Some of those fixie-hipsters file down / saw off mounting points you need for the rear dérailleur or the down tube shifters...
Off the top of my head you will need:
- pair of down tube shifters (or bar end shifters) + maybe mounting hardware
- rear dérailleur (7 speed, no difference to 6 speed)
- new rear wheel (or wheel to be relaced with a new hub)
- freewheel or cassette (depends on hub)
- front dérailleur
- crank set
- cables, housing, ferrules
The most expensive part will be the rear wheel, unless you get a decent used one from the bike shop. What you can do is:
- measure width of rear drop outs, if it is less than 130mm and it is a steel frame: respace the frame
- get a new(-ish) rear wheel with a freehub
- get a cassette (might as well go for 10 speeds if you go for the non-indexed (or friction) down tube (or even better: bar end!) shifters)
- get a crank set (probably a Campagnolo one, as you'll likely have a square taper bottom bracket)
- get front and rear dérailleurs
- get (now that I think of it) bar end friction shifters to be mounted on the extensions
- get triathlon / aero bars (to mount the aforementioned shifters to)