Have questions or want to discuss cycling? Join Now or Sign In to participate in the BikeRide community.

New: Take Part in the March Giveaway: Coming Soon 3/24

Spoke length woes
I am really new to building my own wheels and having a bit of a dilemma. I downloaded the spocalc excel spreadsheet from http://www.sheldonbrown.com/rinard/spocalc.htm and according to my measurements and its calculations my '74 Varsity's rear wheels should be using 298mm spokes on the left and 296mm spokes on the right (drive side).

I went to my local bike shop and asked for these spokes, he told me that if it were him he would just use 295mm on both sides, you only need two different sizes if the wheel is being built by a machine instead of by hand. If that is the case why do I need spocalc to figure out two different sized spokes? I had previously built this wheel with spokes he had given me (turns out they were 300mm) and I ended up having to file down all the drive side spokes inside the rim as they were too long. I got the wheel built and dished, even rode the bike around quite a bit on the wheel, having to file down so much of those spokes was nagging me though, I felt that the drive side might be weaker due to having too few threads, so I took it apart and went to measuring with a set of calipers.

So the question is, do I really need two spoke length's that are all of 2mm difference from each other to build this rear wheel?
You can probably get away with using the same size if there is only a 2mm difference (though I would use 297's or 298's, not 295's).
the problem with using too long a spoke is that even if you file off the extra, you no longer have complete thread engagement between the spoke and nipple so you get a weak point. But being 1-2mm off on a wheel with 32+ spokes shouldn't be an issue.

I assume there's a price issue with buying 16 of each size versus 32 of a single size?