Have questions or want to discuss cycling? Join Now or Sign In to participate in the BikeRide community.

New: Take Part in the March Giveaway: Coming Soon 3/24

Help with beginner commuter
I'm new to bikes and looking to commute 14mi daily on relatively flat terrain. I'm looking at two used options, first is a like-new 2022 Giant Escape 3 Disc with microshift shifters instead of Shimano for $450. Second is a lightly used 2018 Cannondale Quick 4 for $400.

Additionally, I thought about buying a Priority Ace of Clubs for $570 and building it at home for the easy to maintain belt drive, though something tells me it's not a good idea... I'm lost so any insight at all would be very much appreciated, thanks!
(08-18-2022, 07:22 PM)Freddyfazbear Wrote:  I'm new to bikes and looking to commute 14mi daily on relatively flat terrain. I'm looking at two used options, first is a like-new 2022 Giant Escape 3 Disc with microshift shifters instead of Shimano for $450. Second is a lightly used 2018 Cannondale Quick 4 for $400.

Additionally, I thought about buying a Priority Ace of Clubs for $570 and building it at home for the easy to maintain belt drive, though something tells me it's not a good idea... I'm lost so any insight at all would be very much appreciated, thanks!

Welcome to the community Freddy!