Have questions or want to discuss cycling? Join Now or Sign In to participate in the BikeRide community.

New: Take Part in the March Giveaway: Coming Soon

Entry level triathlon bike recs?
I'm a total newb. Going to do my first triathlon in the summer. Hopefully 90 minute hard Peloton rides I've been doing will keep me from dying during the ride stage.

Any recommendations for a decent inexpensive bike I can use for triathlon but also on recreational rides with my kids? Thanks!
Road bike =/= Cheap.

Even if you can find a budget one, it will likely be heavier than entry level brand bikes and will have cheaper components even.

Your best bet is to check out Craigslist and Facebook Market Place for local sales.

Make sure you lubricate the pulleys before you ride out. If it has a 2-piece crank, take off the crank arms slap it out with a rubber mallet. Slapping some grease in the cups and on the axle and fasten it back together. Torque spec for the crank arm bolt is 14~16nm. This will dramatically improve the smoothness of the ride. Get some cone wrenches and overhaul the hubs while you're at it. Rear normally takes a 15mm and the front typically uses 13mm. Undo the rear wheel hub from the nondrive side and pull it out from the drive side. You can just put it back together reverse and have a good chance of not messing up the dishing. If it has a quick release, make sure there's about 5mm of axle on each side when you screw it back together.
All I can say is that it's worth investing in a comfortable road/triathlon bike - you won't regret it. In your case, a solid second-hand road bike will work well. You can buy a set of race wheels and triathlon aerobar so you can transform your road bike to triathlon. That's a suggestion that I once got from a friend of mine who's a solid amateur cyclist. Just a thought Smile
Merida Scultura 5000 (2015)
Merida Big Nine 400 (2019)