Have questions or want to discuss cycling? Join Now or Sign In to participate in the BikeRide community.

New: Take Part in the March Giveaway: Coming Soon 3/24

Western Flyer Restoration
Hello all,
I just picked up this 1950's Western Flyer Deluxe Tank Model and would like to restore it. This is my first time doing this so I'd love some suggestions/insight. Below I've linked an imgur that has shows a few of the issues that I can see. So far I think I need to solve the following issues.

Pictures: https://imgur.com/a/GkoqnJw
  • Headlight is missing. Where can I find a replacement?
  • Chain Guard has been gouged. Might not need a replacement but also, where would I find one?
  • Back fender is cut pretty badly, BUT it's pretty hidden behind the chain guard so maybe won't need a replacement. Where would I find one though?
  • Where would I find replacement stickers as they will be destroyed once I strip the paint.

I'm looking to just use this as a cruiser around town for personal use, so it doesn't have to be perfect, but I would like to restore it as close as I can without breaking the bank. Happy to take any suggestions and help that you have to offer. Thanks!
Currently working on:
1950s Western Flyer Deluxe Tank Model
(10-29-2020, 09:09 PM)BadDudeWill Wrote:  Hello all,
I just picked up this 1950's Western Flyer Deluxe Tank Model and would like to restore it. This is my first time doing this so I'd love some suggestions/insight. Below I've linked an imgur that has shows a few of the issues that I can see. So far I think I need to solve the following issues.

Pictures: https://imgur.com/a/GkoqnJw
  • Headlight is missing. Where can I find a replacement?
  • Chain Guard has been gouged. Might not need a replacement but also, where would I find one?
  • Back fender is cut pretty badly, BUT it's pretty hidden behind the chain guard so maybe won't need a replacement. Where would I find one though?