Have questions or want to discuss cycling? Join Now or Sign In to participate in the BikeRide community.

New: Take Part in the Latest Giveaway coming soon

Front Derailleur Stuck
Hi all,

Firstly I'm kind of new to cycling so bare with me.

I really wanted to get into cycling during lockdown and ordered a bike online and had to build it myself.

I wanted a road bike and I didn't really want to build it but due to so many people getting into cycling this was my only option.

The problem is that my front derailleur cage is catching on the gears and it means I can't peddle. I can't adjust the gears from the handle bars and I really don't know what to do. I have attached a picture of the cage.

Attached Files Image(s)

(07-22-2020, 08:59 AM)Matt F Wrote:  Hi all,

Firstly I'm kind of new to cycling so bare with me.

I really wanted to get into cycling during lockdown and ordered a bike online and had to build it myself.

I wanted a road bike and I didn't really want to build it but due to so many people getting into cycling this was my only option.

The problem is that my front derailleur cage is catching on the gears and it means I can't peddle. I can't adjust the gears from the handle bars and I really don't know what to do. I have attached a picture of the cage.

Welcome Matt,