Have questions or want to discuss cycling? Join Now or Sign In to participate in the BikeRide community.

New: Take Part in the Latest Giveaway coming soon

Axle is clunky/not spinning smoothly, is this an issue of bearings or cub/cone?
I'm fairly new to bike repair aside from regular maintenance. Lately I've noticed by rear wheel has not been spinning properly--it's a Shimano 105 hub and axle. When I spin it freely on the bike, or when I spin it when the wheel is off, if feels clunky, like the axle is spinning into 'grooves' or 'notches'. I have two videos to show:

On bike: https://imgur.com/a/SQX0I3P

Off bike: https://imgur.com/a/wNWZ4gR

You can see how clunky and non smooth the axle spins.

I have started taking the rear axle/hub apart but not sure I should fiddle with the ball bearings since it's getting into an area I haven't worked on. I want to make sure I am diagnosis properly. Reading online it seems its an issue of either the free hub (which seems to spin and lock fine), the bearings themselves (which I'm not sure is just gritty, what causes this?), or whether the cup/cone needs adjusting. It seem to me it's bearings, since no matter how tight the cup/cone is it's clunky (unless not tight/threaded at all).

I hope someone can advise.

Thanks!
(06-28-2020, 07:19 PM)jjef_21 Wrote:  I'm fairly new to bike repair aside from regular maintenance. Lately I've noticed by rear wheel has not been spinning properly--it's a Shimano 105 hub and axle. When I spin it freely on the bike, or when I spin it when the wheel is off, if feels clunky, like the axle is spinning into 'grooves' or 'notches'. I have two videos to show: