Have questions or want to discuss cycling? Join Now or Sign In to participate in the BikeRide community.

New: Take Part in the March Giveaway: Coming Soon 3/24

Can't Find Replacement for 6-Speed Shimano Cassette
    Hey everyone. I'm new to working on bikes and have been cleaning mine from using it at college. I replaced the chain since it was very stretched. The new chain was slipping a lot. After searching for why that was happening I concluded that I needed to replace my sprockets. The tool fitting rotates with the sprockets, so I think this is a cassette style. However, I cannot find any Shimano 6-Speed cassettes. I also found someone on a forum saying Shimano never made 6-speed cassettes. I don't want to have to buy a 7-speed shifter or attempt to make a 7-speed cassette work with the 6-speed shifter on my bike. If anyone has any advice I would really appreciate it. This forum was recommended to me after I posted this question on reddit. I have included a link to that post. I also attached a picture. The tool fitting reads "Shimano Hyper Glide-C". Thanks in advance.

https://www.reddit.com/r/bikewrench/comments/h8mx0m/cant_find_replacement_for_6speed_shimano_cassette/
one option is to buy a 7 or 8spd cassette, grind off the rivits to separate the cogs and spacers use the cogs you want in sequence ( keep this in mind when picking the h/l gear). slip cogs and spacers on individual just like normal and you are good to go. That is how you make custom gear sets, they do not have to be rivited to function properly
There are two kinds of people in the world, "Those who help themselves to people, and those who help people!"